Critical National Infrastructure

Critical National Infrastructure (CNI) is not all owned or operated by Government. In many countries the majority will be owned by private companies. The UK Government defines CNI as “those facilities, systems, sites and networks necessary for the functioning of the country and the delivery of the essential services upon which daily life in the UK depends”.

The UK government categorises National Infrastructure as:

  • Communications
  • Emergency services
  • Energy
  • Financial services
  • Food
  • Government
  • Health
  • Transport
  • Water

However not everything within National Infrastructure is Critical. We can work with Governments to help them understand their CNI and categorise it.

Optimal Risk run a range of courses designed to support the different agencies involved in protecting the CNI. These include:

  • Introduction to CNI protection
  • CNI interdependencies
  • Threat assessment
  • Vulnerability assessment
  • Risk assessment and Risk management
  • Design, delivery and system integration